Rotating Plant Gallery

The sink in my kitchen is positioned in the corner below two angled windows. As a result, there is a large amount of empty space that, if left bare, looks pretty cold and ugly. My solution has been to keep plants and cut branches or flowers in a sort of rotating gallery.

Here are some tips in making your own plant corner:

  • Choose plants, branches, and flowers that you enjoy looking at and tending to. I adore ferns and a green bloom, which is why I have a mix of baby tears, single madenhair and lemon button ferns.
  • Always have a few vases full of something you cut from your yard or garden.  Even if it is a branch from a tree, the second you stick it in a jar of water it becomes interesting and dramatic.  I’ve got a vase with two long tree branches and another with American boxwood.
  • Leave the plants in their actual plastic container, as opposed to actually transferring them into pots. This way you can rotate the plants around.
  • Make the space functional as well; grow herbs that you use in cooking or brew sun tea amongst the plants.
  • Mix architectural pieces or artwork within the groupings of plants for an eclectic look. Here, I’ve taken an old lantern and treated it like a terrarium.

About Cate

Cate is a former decorating editor of a shelter magazine based in Manhattan, who has recently moved from the Big Apple to Charlottesville with husband and baby. An interior design enthusiast, she enjoys all things aesthetic.
This entry was posted in DIY, Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rotating Plant Gallery

  1. Kristin says:

    Awesome post! I really would love to get some plant-life in my house, but really have no idea how to arrange it, or where exactly to put it. You are so creative and I love what you have done. Also, how do you make sun tea? Perhaps you could make another post with instructions?

  2. It’s charming! I have to admit that I never envy people with those corner sinks, but I love yours!

  3. Jill S says:

    LOVE this. Maybe if I can make my sink area look nicer, I will want to wash more dishes. Think it’ll work?

Leave a Reply

