Winter Therapy: Knitting

With so much cold weather, all I’ve wanted to do is curl up next to our fireplace and knit.  There is something about the winter that inspires me to dust off my needles, which have been mostly untouched for the past few months.

I have been knitting scarves for years, but around this time last year I was inspired to work on a different, more challenging project.  I wanted to make something for my unborn son, and decided that a knit bear was the perfect thing.  The project had a pretty big learning curve, but I followed the pattern I found in a book from the library, and with a help from a talented friend I was able to complete it.  My now four-month-old is still too young to really appreciate this bear, but I hope in just a few months it will become his favorite toy.

If you have never knit before, winter is a great time to pick up the hobby.  Scarves are really easy to make and great to give as gifts.  Ask your grandma to help you get started, or take a class from The Needle Lady on the downtown mall.  This yarn and needlework shop offers a wide variety of classes from beginner to advanced, and sells beautiful, quality yarn from all over the world.  They also host ‘knitting night’ every Thursday from 5-8pm where you can go and work on your knitting projects with others; I’ve been and it is a lot of fun.  Start now, and you can have a nice scarf to keep you warm in the remaining cold months.

top image via flickr

About Kristin

Kristin is a photographer who lives in Durham with her husband and two children; she was born and raised in New York but has fallen in love with living below the Mason-Dixon. Before pursuing photography, she worked as an elementary and middle school teacher. She loves to read, sing, craft, and spend time with her family.
This entry was posted in DIY, Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Winter Therapy: Knitting

  1. Daniel says:

    Q. 1a: Does the bear have a name?
    Q. 1b: If not, is there a feature on this blog where we can vote for one?

  2. Stephanie says:

    This bear is soooo precious. I will commission you to make me one someday!

  3. Jill S says:

    Knitting and crocheting is such fun! The little bear is adorable!

  4. Cate says:

    Kristin, you are just so talented. I’ve ALWAYS aspired to knit, and have pulled off a scarf here and there, but that is it! I love the bear. I also really want to learn how to knit baby booties for Charlie. Maybe we can take on the project together?

  5. Mom says:

    Hi Kristin, I am so proud of your knitting! I remember when
    you knit your first scarf. The little bear for Jon is adorable. I
    can’t wait to see the next project. Lots of love from “above” the
    Mason-Dixon! Mom

Leave a Reply

