Same Bed, Three Ways

In the past four years, I’ve lived in three different places, which means three different bedrooms, with the same old bed in each. In the beginning, I took the “more is more” approach seen above, hanging anything and everything in a gallery like display.

In my next bedroom, I refined the artwork a bit. I chose framed drawings and an oil sketch to mimic the muted tones of beige and white sheets.

Now, in my current bedroom, I’ve decided to go a bit modern and have only four pieces hanging, all of which have metal frames with bright white mats. The bigger piece centered above the bed is my husband’s prized possession: a vintage Beach Boys poster from their “Endless Summer” tour. After two rather femininely appointed bedrooms, I thought it only fair to throw him a bone!

Tips for hanging art above your bed:

  • If most of your artwork is on the smaller side, take the “more is more” approach. Any grouping of framed items becomes interesting if it’s a large enough group.
  • Frame anything and everything. It doesn’t have to be an official piece of art to belong in a frame. Pages from art books, postcards, your child’s artwork, all look great behind glass and hung on a wall.
  • Save your favorite pieces for the wall that faces the bed, that way you can actually enjoy your favorite artwork every time you wake up in the morning.

For cheap, reliable frames, check out the metal options at Blick art supplies stores. Also, I always love acrylic frames for a more modern look. If you’re after a vintage or traditional aesthetic, an affordable option is to buy old fashioned artwork from thrift stores for the frame. You can always replace the inevitably cheesy art with something of your own. Check out our thrifting guide for local options.

About Cate

Cate is a former decorating editor of a shelter magazine based in Manhattan, who has recently moved from the Big Apple to Charlottesville with husband and baby. An interior design enthusiast, she enjoys all things aesthetic.
This entry was posted in Culture, DIY, Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Same Bed, Three Ways

  1. Stephanie says:

    Cate, fabulous advice. I am inspired for the wall above my bed which just has that one, large Roccoco-style painting. I want to go more of the more is more approach…just gotta collect those eclectic frames…

  2. Kristin says:

    Love this post Cate! I can’t wait to take your advice and start hanging any and everything. I always get nervous about hanging things, which has left me with boring, barren walls.

  3. Cate says:

    Just go for it! Get out the nails and hammer and just eyeball it. If you feel like it looks uneven, just add more. It seems scary at first, but once you have two things on the wall, you’ll gain your confidence, I promise!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I saw this advice from Martha Stewart for hanging several pictures at a time:

    For each frame, trace the frame onto a brown paper bag that has been cut open and flattened. Cut out the shape — this will be the easy-to-move and imagine stand-in on the wall while you decide where to hang things. Mark the paper with the place where the nail should go.

    Tack all the stand-ins on the wall with tape or putty and rearrange until you have things where you want them. Then mark the wall where the nail should go or hammer the nail through the bag before removing the bag and hanging the frame.

  5. DZ says:

    I feel that the beach boys poster really says it all.

  6. Jill S says:

    Great post, Cate. Any tips on hanging things above or around a sleigh bed with a BIG solid wood headboard?

  7. Abby says:

    Cate, it’s beautiful! Your bedroom looks so composed and peaceful. I have such a weakness white bedrooms and you’ve accented yours perfectly. (Now I’m ashamed to have you come over to our hovel…)

  8. Elizabeth says:

    You are so talented, Cate! Thanks for the inspiring ideas. I wished you lived in DC!

  9. Carrie_d says:

    I Love the idea of “more is more” with the frames. I’m going to give that a try in my apt. I have a huge bedroom with nothing on teh walls but a painting stephanie did post college of our mother. I need more inspiration like this!

  10. Pingback: It’s Friday! | The Charlotte

Leave a Reply

