Tablescapes 101

Decorating an empty surface is one of the best places to let your creativity come out. The art of arranging your “objet d’art” involves understanding scale and creating different levels for your things to rest on. Above I’ve gathered some of my favorite objects including white vases, glass candlesticks, family photographs, drawings, and freshly cut greens, and I’ve arranged them on stacks of books, trays, and boxes.

Key tools needed:

  • Picture stands, either acrylic or brass. Use these to place smaller pieces or art that can be framed or unframed. Drawings work especially well.
  • Stacks of large art, design or photography books.  These can be used to create different levels for your various “objet” to rest on.
  • Collections of similarly colored objects.  For example, I’ve collected various white vases, bowels, milk glass jugs, etc. and tend to arrange them together. The repetition of color makes an automatic statement.
  • Flowers, branches or plants. Always have some kind of greenery on your table that is living (fake flowers just won’t do).
About Cate

Cate is a former decorating editor of a shelter magazine based in Manhattan, who has recently moved from the Big Apple to Charlottesville with husband and baby. An interior design enthusiast, she enjoys all things aesthetic.
This entry was posted in DIY, Flora, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tablescapes 101

  1. Emily says:

    If this post had a love button, I’d click it. “Like” just won’t do. I need some serious help on tablescapes!

  2. Margaret says:

    So just the other day I was sitting thinking about decorating our new house and I thought to myself, “I wish I knew what Cate would do.” I am so. stinking. happy. I get to find out!

    I love the console and the symmetry of the blue lamp and lantern.

  3. Kristin says:

    so inspired.

  4. wow. i love this. great blog girls! so glad i discovered it

  5. Hannah Byrd says:

    wow. i love this. great blog girls! i’m so glad i discovered it

Leave a Reply

