Heels and Big Sunglasses

Last night I stumbled upon a folder of old photographs of my Grandmother. We were very close and it was really hard when she passed away a few years ago. I’d like to share some of the photos I love the most of her. We could learn a thing or two from her amazing and classic style. She always wore heels, over-sized sunglasses and cocktail rings. I miss her so much!

(She is on the right here)

 

(She is on the far left here, pictured with her sisters and Mother)

How about you guys? Do you like looking at old photos of your Grandparents? What sort of style did your Grandma have?

About Stephanie

Stephanie is an internationally recognized calligrapher. She employs a wide variety of calligraphic tools, papers, textiles, inks and found objects to articulate both words and portraits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Culture, Fashion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Heels and Big Sunglasses

  1. Emily says:

    How do you think she got her hair to look like that, in pic number one?

    • Stephanie says:

      It looks like she pinned it back after making it super big
      with rollers. Can you tell big hair runs in the family? There is
      this girl who posts videos on youtube of how to style various 50s
      looks. I’ll try to find the videos…

  2. Sean says:

    That’s so fun! I love the candidness of the guitar picture. When I got back to the US last month I started sorting through family photos and put them up online (http://photosfrommymother.tumblr.com) as a little project…it’s always really special to do something like this, because you find those unexpected similarities between yourself and the people you love. And I even found some stylish pics of my dad when he was younger…big surprise considering his style now!

    • Stephanie says:

      Haha yeah its hard to imagine one’s parents being ‘cool’ but they kinda were! I love your tumblr album. What a great idea. I might just have to make one of my own! SUCH a great choice for the header image!

  3. Kimberly says:

    My grandmother had a very classic style as well. She even shares the same shoe size as me and similar body type so I have many wool blazers and pretty pumps from her when she moved into the nursing home. It’s sad to watch them go but I’m always so happy to have bits of their lives mixed in with our own.

  4. jenny says:

    such incredible style! your grandmother was gorgeous all through the years.
    i love looking through old family photos- there’s something about those really thick photos with the zig zag edges, swoon! you’ve inspired me to scan a few of my faves to share šŸ™‚

    • Stephanie says:

      I totally loved those old zig zag edges too!

      I also scanned a bunch of my Mom from the 70’s that are a-mazing (she modeled for a photographer), but I know she would get so mad if I posted them online!

Leave a Reply

