A Vegetable Garden

Isn’t it so refreshing and wonderful to eat vegetables fresh from your garden? I have often longed for a day when I could have a backyard to grow a little vegetable garden in; potted plants on the porch have not been quite as rewarding.

I was so excited when I recently learned that the City of Charlottesville offers community garden plots. For only $40.00 a year you can rent a 30×30 plot of land to garden in either Azalea Park or Meadowcreek Gardens. You can secure one of these plots beginning February 22nd by signing up at City Hall on the Downtown Mall. They will give you a map of the plots and you can pick the one that best suits your needs. Wouldn’t it be so fun to share a plot with a friend, or to bring your children to help with the watering?

Anyone have good gardening references that would be helpful for me as I begin this adventure?

Images via Flickr, the talented Karen Mordechai and The Selby
About Kristin

Kristin is a photographer who lives in Durham with her husband and two children; she was born and raised in New York but has fallen in love with living below the Mason-Dixon. Before pursuing photography, she worked as an elementary and middle school teacher. She loves to read, sing, craft, and spend time with her family.
This entry was posted in Flora, Food & Drink, Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Vegetable Garden

  1. Dana says:

    I have a garden plot at Meadowcreek! It is so worth the $40. You’re going to have a blast with it. I sort of kept up a blog about my experience last year – it was my first time doing community gardening, and I learned a lot of lessons from it. http://www.danas-garden.com

    • Kristin says:

      That’s awesome, Dana! I will definitely be checking out your gardening blog … I have so much to learn and any tips are definitely appreciated!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    sadly, no. our townhouse is not conducive to gardening. And I seem to ruin potted plants:( I might be up for sharing a plot with you, if you’d have me?

Leave a Reply

