Through the Fog

Last summer my husband and I went to a little Bed and Breakfast on Tangier Island in the middle of the Chesapeake Bay. The island is so small that everyone commutes by golf carts and bicycles, they have delicious seafood, and our experience was quite charming. I was eager to take a few photos before we left, but when I brought my camera outside of the air conditioned B&B and into the heat, the lens immediately fogged up because of the temperature change. I didn’t have time to let it adjust so I just snapped a few photos anyway simply as a way to remember the trip. When I later reviewed the images I was surprised at how beautiful some of them turned out, particularly those of flora.  The photos are completely unedited, and have a soft, painterly, and dream-like quality solely because of the foggy lens.

About Kristin

Kristin is a photographer who lives in Durham with her husband and two children; she was born and raised in New York but has fallen in love with living below the Mason-Dixon. Before pursuing photography, she worked as an elementary and middle school teacher. She loves to read, sing, craft, and spend time with her family.
This entry was posted in Art, Flora and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Through the Fog

  1. Stephanie says:

    So pretty.

    This is making me miss the ocean.There always seem to be hydrangeas by the sea.

  2. Emily says:

    This is exactly the kind of moment that I would never be able to capture…how beautiful!

  3. Margaret says:

    What fantastic shots. Thanks for sharing these.

  4. Cate says:

    Honestly, these look like paintings. I love them! You should print them out and frame them . . . how gorgeous would they look with a white matte/birch frame combo!?

Leave a Reply

