Décor for a Dollar

Recently a reader asked us where one could find inexpensive frames. Well, it doesn’t get much cheaper than a dollar. That’s right! I found metal frames with glass, not plastic, overlays that cost one dollar in the discount bin at Target. (Unfortunately, I can’t find them online . . . I think it’s a “go to the store and buy them” type of deal) Then I took catalogues and magazines that I had sitting around and ripped out interesting images that I admired.

I scattered the frames in various places throughout my house that needed a little pick me up. The moral of the story: it only takes $1 (and some creative energy) to add style to your home.

In what has become my “girly corner” hidden away next to my closet, I hung the two fashion spreads to fill out the empty spaces on the wall.

I’m still not sure this works, but I’ve always wanted to try taking a pair of similar images, hanging one and leaning the other one below it on a table. It gives it an official, fancy appearance. The images are actually from the New York Times Magazine; they are photographs of the national pond hockey tournament.

For months, my hallway table-and-mirror arrangement has been quite lopsided, with the two oil paintings on the left side and nothing on the right. I fixed this with two interior scenes that I framed and hung on top of each other. Feels much more finished.

About Cate

Cate is a former decorating editor of a shelter magazine based in Manhattan, who has recently moved from the Big Apple to Charlottesville with husband and baby. An interior design enthusiast, she enjoys all things aesthetic.
This entry was posted in DIY, Home, Retail and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Décor for a Dollar

  1. Stephanie says:

    I love how you worked in these frames with the other pieces and how your “corner” by the closet looks. I especially love that you have a necklace hung as art. I’ve seen that around and think it looks so awesome.

Leave a Reply

