A Few Improvements

My mom has been visiting this week (hence the reason for my brief silence on the blog) and, as always, has helped me make a few improvements. After a trip to the Greenwood Country Store and Ivy Nursery, my mantel, sideboard, and the front of my house got some much-needed love.

Above, you can see she brilliantly changed what was my mantel arrangement to something a bit more peaceful that has an almost neo-classical-French look to it. My new tin vessels give weight to the airiness of the white objects and nude study, which is a simple pencil drawing from high-school that I framed.

How grown-up does this look!? All of it is new: the ferns, pots and brass candlesticks. We found them on our excursion down Ivy road. I love how pretty it looks (I feel like I have enough funky/eclectic/unique right now) and it is something I will enjoy. Also, where have I been in terms of the classic-yet-modern aesthetic brass candlesticks provide?

We found the cool metal wreath at the Greenwood Country Store, and it’s as if it goes with the bench that I already had. The stucco can look pretty bland, so this bit of whimsy was the perfect detail to make the outside of my house a bit more inviting.

Thanks Mom!

About Cate

Cate is a former decorating editor of a shelter magazine based in Manhattan, who has recently moved from the Big Apple to Charlottesville with husband and baby. An interior design enthusiast, she enjoys all things aesthetic.
This entry was posted in DIY, Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Few Improvements

  1. Stephanie says:

    Oooh pretty! Great job Cate & Ann!

  2. deborah phelps says:

    You both are so talented and so special…ddp

  3. ann west says:

    great fun and memories of our time together ! xxxmom

Leave a Reply

