September 29, 2007: My Wedding

Word of warning: I had a hard time consolidating the pictures to share, so I apologize in advance if it’s just way too much! A few things to say off the bat: my wedding couldn’t have taken place without my mom and dad, and also our amazing wedding planner Alison of Pineapple Productions. Words can’t express how incredible a job she did.

I can honestly say that I remember aspects of my wedding like it was yesterday. And then there are some parts that I don’t remember remotely. The whole thing seemed to go by so fast. When everyone told me it was time to take my dress off to put on my going away outfit, my response was, “What are you talking about? I just put this on!”


My wedding took place in my hometown of Chevy Chase, Maryland. I got dressed at the house I grew up in, and some of my favorite moments that were captured were from the “getting read” time.

My bridesmaids wore champane colored “party skirts” and white blouses. This was a fun deviation from the usual colorful dress that can often times feel forced.

I didn’t have a plan for my hair, so on the day I just got a bunch of babies breath and put small pieces of it throughout my hair.


I wore white flats. They were Issac Mizrahi for Target and cost no more than $20. There was no way I was going to be taller than the groom, a real possibility if I had worn heels!




There was one long table for the wedding party to sit that ran down the middle of the room. My mom had some extra yards of a beautiful aqua and cream damask fabric that we made into a runner. The flowers were a mix of white and green blooms, with lanterns, ferns and grass groupings mixed in. Every table was different, which I really liked.

We displayed the table placement cards on a slab of slate. Moss balls, ferns and dark hydrangeas were dispersed intermittently.
The biggest hit of the night: the white candy station! This was our “serve yourself” party favor.
Each table had a small moleskin journal in which guests were asked to give any tips or advice they might have. Let’s just say we got some funny contributions! The wedding program was my mom’s idea; the print was a favorite of hers and we adapted it to work. It had an appropriate autumnal aesthetic.




We cut the cake outside amongst firecrackers, everyone got a pack of matches with ‘Z’ stamped on it as a token. I was adamant on having a going away outfit (I mean, did it really matter?) and chose to go the Audry Hepburn route with the Hermes scarf, which was my something borrowed. We headed out in my uncles  vintage, turquoise GTO, my two cousins Mikey and Alex were our drivers.

What a night! Thanks for indulging me. It’s fun to relive it all.

About Cate

Cate is a former decorating editor of a shelter magazine based in Manhattan, who has recently moved from the Big Apple to Charlottesville with husband and baby. An interior design enthusiast, she enjoys all things aesthetic.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Events, Fashion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to September 29, 2007: My Wedding

  1. Libby says:

    oh my gosh! I love these pictures… and I LOVE the idea the the bridesmaid ‘dresses’. I am going to share these images with Easton for inspiration!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Soooo elegant! I loved looking at these pics!! Thanks for sharing this. It looked like an amazing wedding!

  3. Maggie says:

    It is just as beautiful now as it was then! It was a perfect day and a wonderful celebration!

  4. Allison says:

    I love the Bridesmaid “dresses” idea! I’m in a wedding this summer, and I know what you mean about the dresses feeling a little forced.

  5. Margaret says:

    The going away outfit was absolutely necessary.

    Thanks for reliving the memories!

  6. Sarah says:

    Wait, has a week really gone by since this was posted?? How did I miss it?! Oh, that’s right…you were HERE and I was distracted! Most beautiful wedding ever, it’s fun to relive the memories as a guest too. xx!

  7. Jill Smith says:

    Cate, what a gorgeous wedding. Love the candy station, the dresses, the flowers, all of it! What a privilege to get a little peek inside your special day.

Leave a Reply

