April 19, 2008: My Wedding

Three years ago today I married my favorite person.

We decided pretty early on that we wanted a simple event. We had the wedding in a beautiful brick, old-Virginia church that required almost no decorating.

Our priest was robed in his best for the occasion. I love this picture. We had a full, formal Episcopal liturgy with communion. I didn’t want the service to be a showcase of the bride, so the wedding party (groom and attendants then attendants and bride) processed into the church with the entire congregation standing and singing a hymn.

Bouquets, boutonnieres, and the flowers for the alter came from a local florist who also supplied us with buckets of freshly cut Spring flowers that we arranged in vases for the reception.


The reception was in the courtyard of the church hall. We spent all four months of our engagement collecting antique teacups and saucers, and we had enough for each guest. When people entered the reception hall, they saw little collections of teacups and flowers everywhere and were directed to pick their favorite cup and tie their name onto it with a paper and ribbon. We served a tea-feast (cooked almost entirely by our friends), tea, champagne, and punch. And everyone walked around drinking out of their teacups!

My husband went with a simple suit from Banana Republic (see his awesome bow tie further down), and my mother and I made my dress. This was something that I felt really strongly about when planning the event! The fabric is Chantilly lace and yards and yards of dupioni silk. We sewed for 24 hours over two days and finished 90% of the work. My mom finished the details. I wore my mother-in-law’s beautiful veil.

After eating and drinking, guests played boules. (Spot the red bridesmaid’s dress. Each of my bridesmaids made their dress with this amazing rich rose-colored linen. A-mazing.) We sat around in the sun for hours and then drove to our house and had our first evening at home together. It was simply lovely.

And here’s one final tidbit: I didn’t know that wedding blogs existed when working with my then fiance on the plan for the day! We just sat down and said to each other, what do you want this day to be like? And then on April 19, 2008, we committed ourselves each to the other in marriage, and, with the help of our friends and family, we celebrated the day.

Images: Our good friend, Ross McDermott
About Emily

Originally from Pennsylvania, Emily moved to Charlottesville in 2005. She is the managing editor of a journal at the University of Virginia, and, in her free time, she enjoys exploring Virginia with her husband.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fashion, Flora and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to April 19, 2008: My Wedding

  1. Stephanie says:

    Your wedding was not only one of the most beautiful I have ever attended (and for one of the most amazing couple’s I have ever met) but the food was also spectacular! I’ll never forget the tea cups and how beautiful everything looked. Thanks for posting this on such a special day.

    Happy Anniversary, dear friends!

    • Emily says:

      We heard from several people that they loved our food! But, I promise, we just assigned tea cakes, scones, quiches, and salads to capable friends and voila—a feast. It was really amazing to have so many people contribute to the event.

  2. Jill Smith says:

    Just GORGEOUS! Beautiful dress and a beautiful wedding. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Gretchen says:

    Beautiful, Emily! And beautiful Emily! 🙂 What a treat to see these photos and read your reflections on your wedding. I wish I had been there to experience it all in person.

    P.S. This blog is so fun!

  4. Marianne Gum says:

    The most amazing day . Fabulous memories. Thanks for this post, emily, my sweet daughter-in-love.

  5. Cate says:

    Honestly, I just can’t seem to get over your dress. That you made. Ohmygoodness. It’s so beautiful, and romantic. Which is fitting for the romantic couple you are! Happy, happy anniversary.

  6. Cate says:

    what shoes did you wear?

    • Emily says:

      Two pairs. First, white patent leather peep toe heels. Second, bright blue patent leather peep toe flats. Since the dress was so traditional, I really wanted to keep the shoes as fun as possible!

  7. Kristin says:

    What an amazing wedding it must have been. You guys are so creative and beautiful! Happy Anniversary!

  8. Beth Gore says:

    Happy Anniversary you two!

  9. Marianne says:

    Happy Anniversary! Your wedding was one of the most thoughtfully planned out weddings I’ve ever been to. It made a big impression on me and what I wish I would have done … 🙂

Leave a Reply

