Our Winter Wedding

My husband and I were married nearly 5 years ago on an unseasonably warm December 30th.  We had a fast 4-month engagement and planned a simple wedding in Downtown Charlottesville.

I loved my crisp winter-white dress, embellished with scalloped lace and simple beadwork.  My shoes were hand-beaded by my dear grandmother, who used to own a small bridal shop.

My husband and the groomsmen wore standard tuxedos, while the bridesmaids wore simple red dresses.

The night before the wedding, many members of my family and friends came over to assemble the bouquets and make the boutonnieres.  Each member of my family and my best friends added a different flower to my bouquet before I put the finishing touches on it.

Our ceremony was held in the historic and beautiful Christ Church.  Being Christmastime, we didn’t need to decorate at all as the church was already decked out.  We put a lot of emphasis on the service itself and were blessed to have some of our talented friends play music; one of my best friends even wrote and performed a song for us during Communion.

Being unseasonably warm, the bridal party walked on the downtown mall to the reception at the Omni.  My wonderful aunt made me the satin and fur jacket to wear over my dress.

We wanted our reception to be a huge celebration/dance party.  We don’t take ourselves too seriously, so to kick off the light-hearted, celebratory mood our first dance was a choreographed piece to Coldplay’s ‘A Message’ complete with jumps, twirls, and lots of laughter.

It was truly a beautiful day and I am so grateful for all the family and friends that made it so special.  I am so thankful to be married to such a great man.  Nearly five years later, two children, lots of laughs, fights, and life lived, there is no one I’d rather be with. Thanks for indulging me.

* all photographs taken by the talented Casey Templeton

About Kristin

Kristin is a photographer who lives in Durham with her husband and two children; she was born and raised in New York but has fallen in love with living below the Mason-Dixon. Before pursuing photography, she worked as an elementary and middle school teacher. She loves to read, sing, craft, and spend time with her family.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fashion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Our Winter Wedding

  1. Stephanie says:

    What a dress!! You looked gorgeous. Love the Christmas red.

    I have to admit that I laughed out loud seeing that photo of Dan with the “Game Plan” and that shot of him leaping through the air. Do you guys have the dance on video? I. must. see. it.

  2. Kristin says:

    Thanks Steph!
    haha … yeah the dance was kind of epic. Unfortunately we planned it kind of last minute and surprised everyone with it so no one thought to videotape, and we were so preoccupied we forgot to ask someone to.

  3. laura marks says:

    loved seeing these photos again and reading about your beautiful day!

  4. Kelley says:

    Other than my own, your wedding is still my favorite wedding ever. I remember when I was planning mine, I was telling everyone about your ceremony and how magnificent it was. Whenever the subject comes up, I still talk about it. I bet you didn’t know how inspirational you are!!

    Love love love love!

    • Kristin says:

      oh Kelley! Thank you so much … I had no idea you were so touched by our wedding … I LOVED your wedding. Oh my gosh it was sooooo beautiful. love to you and your fam.

  5. Your wedding ceremony and reception were magical! I was so touched and felt like we were in the presence of God … I burst into tears as you walked down the aisle! I loved it so much I stole your wedding singers 😉 I still have your beaded purse that was my “something borrowed” (besides the singers)… Its in my safe keeping until I see you again, which I hope is so so soon!
    Nothin but lovin!

  6. Carolyn Polson says:

    Wow…these are great pictures! However with the subjects being so very photogenic, how could they not be beautiful! What a memorable day…you are one talented gal and Daniel is one lucky guy! God bless!

Leave a Reply

