Happy Mother’s Day (Part 3)

Any attempt to put into words what my mom means to me is futile. I’ve tried before, and I just come up short. So I’ll say this: she’s my absolute favorite person. There’s just no one I’d rather be with in this world. When we are together, we laugh so hard, people might think we’re crazy. You know, the kind of laughter that might turn into crying because you literally can’t get a hold of yourself. As my husband will attest, there’s no one else that can make me laugh like that. She’s so funny.


This mother’s day is my first as a mother myself. So I have a whole new appreciation for my mom. She’s so kind. She’s so compassionate. And she’s loved me so completely. For so long. Without judgement. She’s just been such a comfort. I’ll be lucky if I’m half the mother to my child as she’s been to me. But I’m so grateful, I mean REALLY grateful, that I have had such an amazing example in her. And wow, talk about an awesome grandmother . . .




Here’s to you, mom! Thanks for being just so great. And happy, happy mother’s day. Love you.

p.s. This is sort of me . . . 

About Cate

Cate is a former decorating editor of a shelter magazine based in Manhattan, who has recently moved from the Big Apple to Charlottesville with husband and baby. An interior design enthusiast, she enjoys all things aesthetic.
This entry was posted in Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day (Part 3)

  1. Margaret says:

    Wow! In the first two photos I was all – LUCY, and in the third I can see your grin. Love it!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    How amazing is this post?! Love.

  3. John Zahl says:

    What a great tribute to an awesome mom! Thanks Cate!

Leave a Reply

