Old Fashioned Beach House

This past week we’ve been fortunate enough to be staying in my favorite place in the world: my grandparents beach house on Long Island. And, before we head back South, I couldn’t resist snapping some shots of this timeless space. I’m not sure exactly when my grandparents bought the house, but I know it was at least 30 years ago. They expanded and added on what we call the “party room” that’s complete with a screened-in bar, and a wall of glass sliding doors to the outside patio. Needless to say, I feel like it looks better than ever; when my mom did it during the 80s the style was all about chintz, florals, coral, and decorative painting. But maybe they were onto something? Because it doesn’t feel dated to me. Or, at least, it’s retro in the best sense of the word. And the awesome abstract paintings were, of course, done by my dad who gave them to his parents. They are such beach paintings, right? Enjoy!






About Cate

Cate is a former decorating editor of a shelter magazine based in Manhattan, who has recently moved from the Big Apple to Charlottesville with husband and baby. An interior design enthusiast, she enjoys all things aesthetic.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Old Fashioned Beach House

  1. Stephanie says:

    There is so much to love about this place that I don’t know where to start.

    Your Dad’s paintings are amazing. The flooring in that house is amazing. The lamps are amazing. It is ALL amazing. I love the coral colored wall at the bar and the wallpaper in the kitchen is just totally awesome.

    Can I come join you?

  2. Deirdre@deirdrezahldesign.com says:

    In all seriousness, I aspire to own a Tom West.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Yeah, Cate, does your Dad take commissions? Does he have any lying around that he’d be willing to sell? All of his paintings are totally up my alley. I’m serious too…I didn’t realize he had done some with pinks and oranges. Let me know!!

  4. John Zahl says:

    What Deirdre said. ^ !!!

  5. Tom West says:

    To Stephanie, John and Dierdra:

    Thank you for your kind words about my paintings. The ones in the beach house pictures are pretty old. And, yes I take commissions!

    Tom W.

Leave a Reply

