Anthony Bourdain and Eric Ripert at The Paramount


Tony Bourdain is pretty much the only person I can stand to watch on TV. I am surprised that I have not mentioned him before on the blog! I guess you could say that I’m a huge fan (although I hate that term). Did you know, he and his pal Eric Ripert are coming to Charlottesville? They’ll be at the Paramount in October. And I’m totally going.

I read his first book Kitchen Confidential and was hooked. I’ve also devoured every single episode of No Reservations and Top ChefTreme is now my next obsession–although I just recently found out about it. I love Reservations’ combination of culture, food and just plain old goofiness. The history, the graphics, the puns, the staged shots; I love it all!

Anthony Bourdain is an intelligent, culturally aware, articulate “celebrity” and he won’t stand for too much BS. He also listens to great music. I would say these are the reasons he’s a-OK in my book.

Eric Ripert also seems like a genuinely nice guy, and I have enjoyed Avec Eric, though not quite as much as I love No Reservations. I get the sense that he’s truly a brilliant chef.

I wonder where they are eating dinner beforehand? If I could, I would take them out for martini’s at the C&O, dinner at Tavola or Taste of China and suggest tacos at La Michoacana before they head out of town.

Are you a fan? Where would you suggest they go for drinks or dinner in Charlottesville?

About Stephanie

Stephanie is an internationally recognized calligrapher. She employs a wide variety of calligraphic tools, papers, textiles, inks and found objects to articulate both words and portraits.
This entry was posted in Culture, Events, Food & Drink and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anthony Bourdain and Eric Ripert at The Paramount

  1. I love him, too. I once heard him say he wanted to be the Hunter S. Thompson of the culinary world. I loved that thought. I guess it explains why some are in awe of him and hang on his every word.

Leave a Reply

