Inspiration

I’m curious; what inspires you when it comes to your own home?

How do you plan out a new space? How do you budget? I’d love some suggestions…

It is often said in design; the more challenges that exist in a design problem, the more incredible the outcome can be. As a graphic designer I’ve always been able to attain high quality “materials” to make my creations come to life; fonts, software, hardware, etc. But when I want to play designer at home the resources are much more limited. One should be able to create a home that is expressive and beautiful under even the tightest of budgets, right? No doubt you’ve seen the “undecorated” look before. I think I’ve grown tired of that aesthetic. Where is the middle ground? Kelly Wearstler herself (designer of the above interiors) was quoted saying this about her early EPIC hotel interiors,

“I just did what I felt. I was just going through thrift stores and finding cool stuff.”

I think that is downplaying a bit, right? A room that looks like her style actually costs money. Great things usually do! I guess I want that on a shoestring budget.

“…Following on the heels of minimalism – the grim asceticism of the early 1990s – Ms. Wearstler, along with Jonathan Adler and Miles Redd, brought the florid and the decorative back to interior design. Hers was a look that reached for the historical grand gesture and paired it with the modern one, offering a Louis chair in black patent leather (or a wing chair in white), a painted Rococo mirror set against a turquoise blue wall, a Roman head and a shag rug. It was arch and theatrical, but never quite kitsch.

“It’s cartoon-y, it’s pop-up,” said Marian McEvoy, a contributing editor at Domino magazine, which named Ms. Wearstler a “mega decorator” in 2008.

…Her luxurious midcentury-modern interiors launched her career…”- NYT

What is the balance? How do you do inspiration?

All images taken from Kelly Wearstler’s portfolio
About Stephanie

Stephanie is an internationally recognized calligrapher. She employs a wide variety of calligraphic tools, papers, textiles, inks and found objects to articulate both words and portraits.
This entry was posted in Admire It, Culture, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Inspiration

  1. Sean says:

    Yes, Kelly’s interiors look and ARE expensive, but I think you can be inspired by the fundamentals of her design – playing with contrast and proportion to create outsized elegance! Looking at her blog I think you can easily become inspired by the shape of things…different colors, etc. Then incorporate those into your home in an artfully arranged tableau or with some new art!

    P.S. I’m assuming you’ve seen her blog?
    http://myvibemylife.com/

    • Stephanie says:

      Thanks for your comment, Sean. I think you are so right about proportion. I was just looking at her blog (thanks for reminding me of it!—I had seen it a while ago but hadn’t looked at it for a long time) and I think that her eye for just that is amazing. There is so much inspiration here!

  2. Natalie says:

    That upholstered headboard in the first photo is to die for.

  3. the wing says:

    Where are these thrift stores she’s going to? Break me off a piece of that!!

Leave a Reply

