Fine Arab Charger

It’s an Emotional Rescue kinda day.

What is your favorite Rolling Stones song?

About Stephanie

Stephanie is an internationally recognized calligrapher. She employs a wide variety of calligraphic tools, papers, textiles, inks and found objects to articulate both words and portraits.
This entry was posted in Mix of the Week, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fine Arab Charger

  1. The Husband says:

    I don’t know about all time, but I’m jamming on “Hang Fire” right now…

  2. Tracey says:

    Mine changes, but this is the present favorite.

    (*Loved your Joni post. She got me through college . . . can’t wait to watch that documentary on Netflix this weekend – thanks for writing about her!)

    • Stephanie says:

      Awesome.

      Oh isn’t Joni the best??! She is one of the great.

      The documentary is really profound. At the end of it I was both amazed but also a little befuddled by the “portrait” that it painted. The whole film, I think inadvertently, made her seem like a completely self-absorbed naval-gazer. Ignoring a lot of depression and emotional pain and making it look like selfish “soul seeking” or “finding herself” kind of stuff. They painted a picture of her leaving every man she loved in pursuit of her art. And the pain that doing such things inflicted, only fueled her art. I thought that was a little bit unfair because she (like everyone) is more complicated than that. Maybe she never found true love? Or a love that would make her completely commit? Who knows, I’m totally speculating! Anyhow I have lots of thoughts about her as an artist and would love to hear a followup on what you think of it!

  3. Tracey says:

    When I was deeply obsessed with Joni, it was pre-Internet. There was so little I could find about her, even when I was working at Rolling Stone Magazine (!). So, initially, any little snippet or photo or performance the documentary offered was new to me and I gobbled it up. But, as it went on, I found myself experiencing exactly what you experienced. It skimmed and fast forwarded through her life (yes, and its complexities) faster than I would have liked. And the whole part about depression and the product of that depression, ‘Blue’ – just seemed glossed over way too quickly.

    Maybe I could end up being a bottomless pit of wanting more and more details on Joni. Then again, maybe I should just take her very personal approach to song writing and glean everything I can from that.

    And on a sillier note, would it have been asking too much to show us around her house, at least? Imagine!

    • Stephanie says:

      So glad you watched it! I am also glad to hear that you had the same perspective on it. I agree; her work is so personal and touching that is kind of enough, right? I’m sure most of her fans thought the same thing we did. But I do wish they hadn’t skimmed over so much. Yea and I would have loved to see more of her space AND her paintings!!

  4. I agree with @TheHusband: it changes from time to time, but Loving Cup from Exile has always been a favorite of mine. The bridge is great. I’m also a big fan of The Storm which is a B-Side on the Love is Strong single.

Leave a Reply

