Café Culture in…Charlottesville?

I’d really love to hear from Charlottesville readers: Where do you go to sit and enjoy a really good cup of coffee outside? I haven’t really found a place that I love. When I lived in DC there was a place that my friends and I went anytime we wanted a cup of espresso or a snack but am still searching for that spot that I love here. Is it just me or are we lacking in this department? I’d love to hear thoughts, gripes, favorites and opinions—don’t be shy!

Images by The Sartorialist and Garance Doré
About Stephanie

Stephanie is an internationally recognized calligrapher. She employs a wide variety of calligraphic tools, papers, textiles, inks and found objects to articulate both words and portraits.
This entry was posted in Charlottesville, Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Café Culture in…Charlottesville?

  1. Sean says:

    Oo! like this topic…also, kudos for the new URL!
    I definitely think cafe “culture” is a bit lacking, although I hope the renovated Mudhouse dt will be the answer to my cafe culture prayers. My favorite place to sit outside is Splendora’s, though – it’s nice under those trees! Plus, they make a perfect-sized cappuccino and their iced coffee is the least expensive I’ve found.

    • Stephanie says:

      Thanks, Sean!

      I agree about the renovations; I’m excited to see what JSJ comes up with for them. I will have to try Splendora’s cappuccino. Have you ever been to Para coffee? Every time I’ve tried to go over there, they are closed.

  2. Yeah, for starters, a place that is open on Sundays!!! And a place where the baristas aren’t all sloppy/slow.

  3. Carol Fishwick says:

    My favorite spot in the early morning is on my lower terrace under a leafy canopy of green.

  4. Sean says:

    Oh the open on Sundays comment is a good one, and also when I lived abroad the cafes stayed open til 1am…I think that’d be brilliant. But they also served wine and beer. oops, abc laws.
    Also, I have not been to Para coffee. I keep meaning to, though! I’ve tried once or twice and it’s been closed for me as well – disaster! And p.s. did you see this link to the mudhouse renovations they tweeted? http://360.io/bvyLKn it’s amazing!

  5. Brian says:

    Java Java on the mall makes a pretty good cup. I always take mine back to work but really enjoy the mall in the early AM, when it is mostly devoid of peeps. C-Ville def NEEDS more ‘pause’ places like NYC or any European city.

Leave a Reply

