From My Parent’s Basement

My paternal Grandmother in Ocean City. Photographed by my Grandfather.

My Dad on the left and his sister-in-law, Betty

After my Dad’s parents passed away in the early 80’s, our basement became the storage space for lots of their possessions until most of it was divided up amongst their children and grandchildren. My Dad is the youngest of three sons and his Mom, Carolyn, was an artist. His father, George, an engineer. My Grandfather also had a real knack for photography. Right now, after many years my Dad is in the process of digitizing a large catalog of slides from years and years of picture-taking. I’ve shared some of my favorites here…

Bob, George and my Dad (counter-clockwise) at 9th Street in Ocean City.

I have distinct memories as a kid of going downstairs a couple of times a month to rifle through all the cool stuff sitting down there in boxes. I’d be bored or going about my day and I’d remember all of the things I hadn’t seen yet…

I would always look at my Grandmother’s paintings and sketches first, stacked in a large-format leather portfolio. There were also piles of pen and ink drawings and sketchbooks. Then I’d look at old photos, one of her 5 detailed scrapbooks, or whatever box I found that day. I think it was a combination of snooping and the pure thrill of finding vintage relics from the past that had me hooked. Once, when I was about 11 or 12, I started crying in the basement while looking at some of their things because I felt that I had so much in common with them and I wished they were still alive so that I could know them. They had died when I was around 5 years old.

There was one box that always eluded me because it was just full of slides; some of those old slide cases from the 60’s. I could never see what the photos were and there were so many. I remember one time my Dad brought home a slide projector from work and set it up and we had a little slideshow of some of them. It turns out we didn’t even scratch the surface, though.

Grandaddy’s Porsche

Their 1967 VW Bug

Check out her cheetah-print couch! Pictured are two of my cousins.

My Cousin Linda

One of me with both Grandmothers.

As the catalog grows, I might post another installment.

About Stephanie

Stephanie is an internationally recognized calligrapher. She employs a wide variety of calligraphic tools, papers, textiles, inks and found objects to articulate both words and portraits.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From My Parent’s Basement

  1. Becky says:

    I love old family pictures. Totally sweet.

Leave a Reply

