Four Ways I’m Doing Flowers Right Now




1. Why splurge on the really expensive tomatoes from Mona Lisa if you’re just going to throw away the awesome cans they come in? Wash them out, take some spray roses, and all of a sudden a funky, fun centerpiece for an Italian themed dinner party.
2. Ivy plants are actually really cheap, and easy to maintain. I love how haphazard and wild they end up growing. I’m putting pots of ivy plants that I bought from Foods of All Nations (you can also get them at Ivy Nursery) all over my house.
3. These containers are actually caper jars that I’ve washed out and taken the label off of. I’ve been cooking a lot of fish recently, and these jars that had capers in them were pulled right out of the recycling when I realized how cute they would look as bud vases for single stems.
4. I don’t know about you, but I’ve got random awards I won in sports or during summer camp lying around, and in those days you got silver or pewter cups instead of actual trophy’s. Well, they end up being the perfect vessel for a casual arrangement.

About Cate

Cate is a former decorating editor of a shelter magazine based in Manhattan, who has recently moved from the Big Apple to Charlottesville with husband and baby. An interior design enthusiast, she enjoys all things aesthetic.
This entry was posted in Flora, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Four Ways I’m Doing Flowers Right Now

  1. I love caper jars as bud vases. We have several on our kitchen window sill specifically for fresh herbs from the garden. 🙂

  2. Dana says:

    Lovely! Do you mind me asking where you bought the peach roses? They’re gorgeous!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    You are so creative, Cate! Love these arrangements.

  4. mary says:

    Sports awards???? Wow.

Leave a Reply

