Mix of the Week: 20 Years Later

Top: Me at 13. The same year, Above: That is a Dischord Records T-shirt on my husband as a 15 year old. He wasn’t listening to any of the songs I was. In fact, if we had met, he would’ve thought I was a huge dork. Which I was.

I still can’t believe that its been 20 years since ‘Nevermind’ by Nirvana was released. I was only 10 years old! Of course, I didn’t listen to them when I was 10 years old. I didn’t hear of Nirvana until I was in the 7th grade (3 years later). I was still very in-the-dark about music beyond what I knew in my parents’ collection and what I heard on DC 101.

I have very distinct early-music memories during those years. My neighbor in 6th grade bought her first two CDs; ‘Get a Grip’ by Aerosmith (the cover really scared me at the time) and ‘Dookie’ by Green Day. At church summer camp in 6th grade, a boy I was friends with snuck over to the window of my bunk room at camp and held his earphones to the screen so that me and my 3 friends could listen to Bush’s Sixteen Stone with him at like 2 in the morning! Haha. My friend Katie introduced me to Fiona Apple and PJ Harvey.

Today’s mix is an ode to the days of listening to DC 101 in my parents old Volvo 240:
1994 / ’95  baby! Listen here on Spotify.

Tracks
Come As You Are – Nirvana
Ridiculous Thoughts – The Cranberries
Just a Girl – No Doubt
All I Really Want – Alanis Morissette
Welcome to Paradise – Green Day
Come Out and Play – The Offspring
This is a Call – Foo Fighters
Swim- Bush
Vasoline- Stone Temple Pilots
Black Hole Sun – Soundgarden
Shadowboxer – Fiona Apple
Missed – PJ Harvey
Undone (The Sweater Song) – Weezer
Today – Smashing Pumpkins
Orange Crush – R.E.M.
Girls and Boys – Blur

About Stephanie

Stephanie is an internationally recognized calligrapher. She employs a wide variety of calligraphic tools, papers, textiles, inks and found objects to articulate both words and portraits.
This entry was posted in Mix of the Week, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mix of the Week: 20 Years Later

  1. Abby says:

    So pretty! (You, that is…) And look at those blonde waves! I don’t think you went through an awkward stage at all. Unfair.

    • Stephanie says:

      OMG I totally did. I was SO awkward. This is the only picture of me from that time where I kinda look normal. The only thing you can’t tell in this photo is how tall I was. See how I’m towering over the lamp??

  2. Margaret Kelley says:

    This is fantastic. I will never be ashamed of my 90s alternative days. The best part of my life. The days when videos were interesting to watch and high school was carefree. Swapping mixtapes in social studies class, recording songs onto cassette tapes from the radio, and buying singles from Tower Records at the Walt Whitman Mall. On Long Island it was all about KROCK 92.3, Hot 97, and Z100.

    • Stephanie says:

      Tower Records. Yes. Katie and I used to go to Tower and the CD Cellar in Falls Church. Did you ever listen to 99.1 WHFS when they were still all Alternative Rock? I remember one day it was just all Reggaeton and I was kinda sad.

    • Kristin says:

      Oh my gosh Margaret! Tower Records at the Walt Whitman mall (which I would drive 45 min. from my house to go to to buy Abercrombie!) z100 and hot 97 OH MY GOSH hysterical. I am a long islander too!

      Amazing post Steph!

  3. Margaret Kelley says:

    YEs! My cousins grew up in Reston, so we used to drive down to NOVA a lot… and I have fond memories of listening to 99.1. It was so great. I definitely remember it when it was good.
    It’s called “El Sol” now. All merengue all the time. LOL

  4. Carrie d. says:

    FIONA APPLE! what a great post! and the photos are priceless. can’t get over how great this mix is.

Leave a Reply

