Sunday Stroll and…Annie Clark

Annie Clark aka St.Vincent and me in front of The Consignment House

Yesterday I had a chance meeting with a very talented artist; Annie Clark. My friend Margaret and I were just browsing around The Consignment House when I saw her and mentioned it to Margaret. “I really do think that’s Annie Clark. I mean, she looks just like her!” I must have said 5 times. After a quick Google search to see if she was playing this weekend, it was confirmed. I sheepishly said hello and she said “hello!”, knowing that I recognized her. We had a lovely little chat and I gushed about her latest album. All in all, I’m very glad I said hello because she is an incredibly nice, talented, fashionable (look at her cute cordovan leather booties) and articulate person. We talked about Circa and how bad The Nook’s food is and I told her that I didn’t know she was playing in Cville (shame on me for not keeping up with The Jefferson this Fall). She kindly insisted that she put me and my husband on her list so that we could attend. How cool is that? We went to the show last night and it didn’t disappoint. She played a song by The Pop Group (She is Beyond Good and Evil) that ended up being my favorite performance of the night, but both the opening tunes (both my top picks from Strange Mercy) were also standouts.

St. Vincent performing She is Beyond Good and Evil

About Stephanie

Stephanie is an internationally recognized calligrapher. She employs a wide variety of calligraphic tools, papers, textiles, inks and found objects to articulate both words and portraits.
This entry was posted in Charlottesville, Culture, Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Stroll and…Annie Clark

  1. Carissa says:

    Wow, Steph. That is really cool. I’m jealous, and I miss Charlottesville!

    • Stephanie says:

      I was just saying yesterday that our town is pretty special. We went to the show last night with zero line, sat in the balcony with an incredible view and then were home in 3 minutes. Definitely not something that would have happened in DC or Boston.

  2. Abby says:

    SO JEALOUS. Annie Clark is my hero.

  3. Sean says:

    OHMIGOD, STEPH. I totally stopped her and asked to shoot her for street style cuz I loved her accessories so much (all Madewell, in case you were wondering) and had NO IDEA it was her. This is ridiculous. Then some of her friends came up to her and I trailed off awkwardly and simpered away…Kudos for recognizing her behind those glasses!!

  4. I love that this town is so musically diverse that I don’t know the who the heck this person is and have never heard of her band. Yet, I can have the same experience (okay, I’ve never talked about The Nook with a musician…how in the world did that come up?), with a completely different artist in a completely different genre, here in Cville.

    • Stephanie says:

      Yes!! And the Nook came up because they had gone there for breakfast and I mentioned that I think that place has terrible food. She agreed! Ha! Never one to keep my opinions to myself I suppose ; – )

  5. Pingback: Monday Snax « Little Stories

  6. Cate says:

    I heard the concert was AMAZING. Wow, what a cool story Steph!!

  7. Margaret Kelley says:

    What a great day!

Leave a Reply

